Guidelines & Rules for the Australian Interstate Photographic Competition (AIPC)

The AIPC is a Digital Image only competition

(unless APS/Management Committee declare a Print Section to be included)


  1. Entries permitted per medium;

Digital Images Colour: Ten per state.  Max number per exhibitor is two.
Digital Images Monochrome:  Ten per state.  Max number per exhibitor is two.

(If a Print section is declared in any year the same numbers and rules applies)

  1. Digital Images entered in previous AIPC competitions are ineligible.
  2. This is an “open subject” competition.
  3. Digital images should be sent or via to the AIPC Liaison Officer or nominated organiser.
  4. The maximum horizontal dimension is 1920 pixels and the maximum vertical dimension is 1080 pixels. Each image file should be in the sRGB JPEG format, and a maximum file size of 5 Megabytes at 300 DPI. Smaller standard file size are also accepted.

(print entries if accepted are maximum 16x20 inches (40x50cm) matted, or for O/Seas members unmounted images are accepted but must not exceed 16x20 inches, max thickness of a matted print is 5mm)

  1. No author’s name or image description should be visible on the front of any image.
  2. Points will no longer be able to be claimed for APS honours.
  3. Acceptance cards will no longer be issued due to cost and that they have no value.
  4. Merit certificates will be awarded to the top five entries in each section.
  5. A Herbert Medal will be awarded to the best entry in each section.
  6. The Alan Moran Certificate will be awarded to the State gaining the highest combined total of all sections.
  7. The Roy Berryman perpetual trophy will be awarded to the maker of the best image in the competition.
  8. A digital compilation of all images, by places and by states, shall be prepared by the AIPC Liaison Officer/organising committee and forwarded to the states by WeTransfer.
  9. A digital PDF catalogue is to be made and forwarded to the APS office for uploading to the downloads section of the website, so that members can download and view the results.
  10. The Australian Photographic Society has a stock of Herbert Medals which will be mailed out to the winners of each section once respective states have provided the mailing address of the recipients.

Digital Certificates will be prepared by the AIPC Liaison officer/organising committee and provided to the merit award recipients via the state representatives.

It is the responsibility of the organising committee/AIPC Liaison Officer to have the Roy Berryman Perpetual Trophy engraved; the Alan Moran trophy has been lost and is now replaced with a suitable digital certificate.

The Roy Berryman trophy shield is engraved and retained by the APS/AIPC organizing committee, unless assurance is given by the state representative that the shield will be returned by July each year.

A small personal (Roy Berryman) plaque is also commissioned, and this is provided to the overall winner of the Best in Show image, APS is responsible for this cost, approx $30/40. See examples attached.

The AIPC Liaison Officer has records of judging format, score sheets and result preparation and plaque and shield inscriptions as may be required.


The winners of the Alan Moran Trophy since 1989 have been:

    2023  Victoria
2022  Victoria 2021  New South Wales
2020  New South Wales 2019  Victoria
2018  New South Wales 2017  New South Wales
2016  New South Wales 2015  New South Wales
2014  Victoria 2013  n/a
2012  n/a 2011  Queensland
2010  Queensland 2009  New South Wales
2008  New South Wales 2007  New South Wales
2006  New South Wales 2005  New South Wales
2004  New South Wales 2003  New South Wales
2002  Queensland 2001  Queensland
2000  Victoria 1999  Victoria
1998  Victoria 1997  South Australia
1996  Victoria 1995  New South Wales
1994  New South Wales 1993  South Australia
1992  South Australia 1991  Victoria
1990  Victoria 1989  New South Wales